Working at Bayer

Living in Switzerland

The Country & Its People

Switzerland is a mountainous country in Central Europe with numerous lakes and high Alpine summits. It has borders with Germany, France, Austria, Italy and Liechtenstein. Its capital is Bern, while other large cities include Basel, Zurich and Geneva. In total, there are approximately 8.5 million people living in Switzerland, though there are also a great number of commuters who travel from the bordering regions into Switzerland every day. 22.7 percent of the entire population consists of citizens who do not have Swiss citizenship.

With its high quality of life, Switzerland is an extremely attractive country for many international workers, who benefit not only from the high standard of living but also attractive salaries, political stability and legal security, together with first-class infrastructure.

Switzerland can be described as a country of settlement, in the best sense of the phrase. In this context, there are numerous programs for expats, including:

The Swiss currency is the franc (CHF), which is divided into 100 cents.

Stores are generally closed on Sundays and national holidays.

For more information, visit https://www.myswitzerland.com/en/home.html

Note on external links: Bayer bears no responsibility for the content of external links. The responsibility for the content of linked pages lies exclusively with the respective website operator.

Education system

The Swiss education system is broken down as follows:

  • Primary level (including kindergarten or entry level)
  • Secondary level I
  • Secondary level II: basic professional education and general schools (Matura grammar schools, vocational schools)
  • Tertiary level: higher professional education outside of university/college (federal PET diplomas and advanced federal PET diplomas, higher technical colleges) and university/college (universities, advanced technical colleges, teacher training colleges)

The education system in Switzerland is primarily the responsibility of the Cantons and Municipalities; the state is only responsible for parts of the system.

There are also various international schools focusing on teaching in English.

Find more information at:

Note on external links: Bayer bears no responsibility for the content of external links. The responsibility for the content of linked pages lies exclusively with the respective website operator.

Language

Switzerland has four official national languages and numerous dialects.

German (63.5%)
The majority of the population lives in German-speaking Switzerland. In 19 of the 26 cantons, Swiss German dialects are mainly spoken.

French (22.5%)
French is spoken in the west of the country, in the area known as Romandy. There are four French-speaking Cantons: Geneva/Vaud/Neuchâtel/Jura. Three cantons are French-German bilingual: Bern, Fribourg and Valais.

Italian (8.1%)
Italian is spoken in Ticino and the 4 southern valleys of Grisons (Italian Grisons).

Romansh (0.5%)
The Canton of Grisons is multilingual: here, people speak German, Italian and Romansh. Romansh speakers represent just 0.5% of the population, making this the smallest Swiss language group. Within this group, there are five or six different dialects: Sursilvan, Sutsilvan, Surmiran, Putèr and Vallader, as well as Romansch Grischun, which was introduced in 1982 as a linguistic compromise between the five Romansh dialects.

Other (6.6%)
There are also many people from outside the country living in Switzerland, who also contribute towards its linguistic diversity; in fact, there are more and more people in Switzerland whose mother tongue is not one of the four Swiss languages.

Leisure time

In keeping with its high quality of life, Switzerland also has a very extensive range of leisure activities to offer. It is known above all for its ski regions and hiking trails, rivers and lakes, though its range of sports is also very broad, with many local clubs offering opportunities to take part in recreational sport. What’s more, Switzerland has an abundance of culture to showcase, including numerous museums, exhibitions, films, theaters and cinemas. For those keen to discover the “real” Switzerland, there are many traditional events on offer, highlighting the country’s customs. And there is also plenty on offer for music lovers of all kinds, with many music festivals and concerts, as well as over nine opera houses spread throughout the country.

Visit the following websites for more tips and information:

Note on external links: Bayer bears no responsibility for the content of external links. The responsibility for the content of linked pages lies exclusively with the respective website operator.

Travailler chez Bayer

Vivre en Suisse

Le pays et ses habitants

La Suisse est un pays montagneux d'Europe centrale avec de nombreux lacs et de hauts sommets. Elle est bordée par l'Allemagne, la France, l'Autriche, l'Italie et le Liechtenstein. Berne est la capitale; autres villes importantes: Bâle, Zurich et Genève. 8,5 millions de personnes habitent en Suisse; notons que beaucoup de frontaliers font quotidiennement la navette. 22,7 pour cent de la population ne sont pas de nationalité suisse.

La haute qualité de vie suisse attire particulièrement la main d'œuvre internationale. Tout aussi attrayants sont les salaires, la stabilité politique, la sécurité juridique et des infrastructures de première classe.

La Suisse est le pays d'implantation par excellence. Les expatriés peuvent profiter de nombreux programmes, par exemple:

Le franc suisse (CHF) composé de 100 centimes est la monnaie nationale.

Les commerces sont généralement fermés le dimanche et les jours fériés.

Pour plus de détails, rendez-vous sur https://www.myswitzerland.com/en/home.html

Remarque relative aux liens externes : Bayer décline toute responsabilité concernant le contenu des sites Internet externes. La responsabilité du contenu des pages correspondant aux liens incombe exclusivement à leurs exploitants.

Système éducatif

Le système éducatif suisse s'articule de la manière suivante :

  • Degré primaire (école Maternelle/jardin d’enfant ou cycle élémentaire compris)
  • Degré secondaire I
  • Degré secondaire II : formation professionnelle initiale et formation générale (écoles de maturité gymnasiale, écoles de culture générale)
  • Degré tertiaire : formation professionnelle supérieure non dispensée par les hautes écoles (examens fédéraux professionnels et professionnels supérieurs, écoles supérieures) et hautes écoles (universitaires, spécialisées, pédagogiques)

La majeure partie de la responsabilité du système éducatif suisse incombe aux cantons et communes; l'implication du niveau fédéral n'est que partielle.

Diverses écoles internationales dispensent un enseignement en anglais.

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations en vous rendant sur le site

Remarque relative aux liens externes : Bayer décline toute responsabilité concernant le contenu des sites Internet externes. La responsabilité du contenu des pages correspondant aux liens incombe exclusivement à leurs exploitants.

Langue

Quatre langues officielles et de nombreux dialectes sont parlés en Suisse.

Allemand (63,5 %)
La majorité de la population vit en Suisse germanophone. On parle surtout les dialectes suisses-allemands dans 19 cantons sur 26.

Français (22,5 %)
On parle français à l'ouest du pays, en Suisse Romande. 4 cantons sont francophones : Genève, Vaud, Neuchâtel, Jura. 3 cantons sont bilingues, on y parle l'allemand et le français : Berne, Fribourg, Valais.

Italien (8,1 %)
On parle italien dans le Tessin et 4 vallées méridionales des Grisons.

Romanche (0,5 %)
Le canton des Grisons est plurilingue. On y parle l'allemand, l'italien et le romanche. Représentant 0,5 % de la population, les Rétho-romans sont le plus petit groupe linguistique de Suisse. On distingue encore cinq langues au sein de ce groupe : le sursilvan, le sutsilvan, le surmiran, le putér et le vallader. Depuis 1982 le romanche grison constitue un compromis linguistique entre les cinq langues rhéto-romanches.

Autres (6,6 %)
Les nombreux étrangers présents en Suisse contribuent à la diversité linguistique du pays. Le nombre de personnes dont la langue maternelle n'appartient pas aux quatre grands groupes de « langues suisses » est en augmentation.

Loisirs

L'offre de loisirs est foisonnante en Suisse, à l’image du haut niveau de qualité de vie. La Suisse est célèbre pour ses stations de ski, ses circuits de randonnée, ses fleuves, ses lacs. Ceux qui pratiquent un sport n'ont que l'embarras du choix tant l'offre est grande, de nombreuses associations de sports de loisirs sont présentes au niveau local, par exemple. L'offre culturelle est toute aussi variée: musées, expositions thématiques, théâtres, cinémas. De nombreuses manifestations traditionnelles raviront ceux qui souhaitent découvrir la Suisse des origines. Les accros de la musique de tous styles seront rassasiés grâce à une immense offre en festivals et concerts; le pays compte neuf opéras en tout.

Rendez-vous sur les sites suivants, vous y trouverez de précieux conseils:

Remarque relative aux liens externes : Bayer décline toute responsabilité concernant le contenu des sites Internet externes. La responsabilité du contenu des pages correspondant aux liens incombe exclusivement à leurs exploitants.