Why Bayer?

Reputation & Impact

Bayer is an international research-oriented company enthusiastic about changing the future and improving the lives of people across the Earth. As a global company, we leave no stone unturned to come up with innovations for society that improve people’s lives, both now and in the future. As part of the Bayer team, you have the opportunity to find answers to the great challenges we face today and make a significant difference with your ideas and solutions.

Our passion is to make the world a better place. This is evident not only in our working culture, but also in our products. Read more about our history and how our contribution to society is gaining recognition here, and discover just why working at Bayer is such a unique experience.

A story of great ideas

Ever since Bayer’s foundation 150 years ago, it has been our biggest goal to improve people’s lives. Our groundbreaking products and state-of-the-art equipment have their roots in the small, visionary company established by Friedrich Bayer and Johann Friedrich Westkott back in 1863. Find out more about our history and discover how Bayer became the company it is today.

The history of Bayer

Our contribution to society

In order to keep up with the ever-changing world, Bayer has always placed great importance on sustainability and social responsibility. We invest in science, education, health and in social and charitable projects to contribute to the viability of society in the future. This commitment is a fundamental part of our company policy. Some of our ongoing projects include:

  • The Bayer Early Excellence in Science Award, given yearly to talented young scientists
  • A collaboration project with the Chinese government with the aim of training doctors in rural and medically undersupplied regions of Western China
  • A fund to promote recreational, handicapped and professional sport in Germany

In addition, Bayer also supports employees in social projects and voluntary work. One example of this is the “Bayer People Care For Society” initiative from the Bayer Cares Foundation in cooperation with the internal “Business Consulting” service. Each year, two to three consultants are deployed on a Bayer Foundation social project for up to three months. The initiative is a core element of Business Consulting’s strategic human resources development program. In 2013, for example, consultant Kathleen Opoku spent two months providing assistance and aid in the city of Tacloban, which was heavily affected by Typhoon Haiyan.

Bayer Foundations

It was back in 1897 that Friedrich Bayer laid the groundwork for what would become the Bayer Foundations by starting the first foundation activities.

Today, we have two foundations at Bayer:

The Bayer Science & Education Foundation supports schools and young scientists and awards special prizes for outstanding research achievements.

The Bayer Cares Foundation, on the other hand, works to improve living conditions by supporting voluntary commitments and is involved in various humanitarian activities, including disaster relief.

Both foundations support science, education and health and help to improve the lives of both present and future generations.

Pourquoi Bayer?

Réputation & influence

Bayer est une entreprise internationale orientée sur la recherche qui travaille avec passion pour changer l’avenir et à améliorer la vie des gens dans le monde entier. En tant qu’entreprise mondiale, nous ne ménageons pas nos efforts dans nos engagements envers la société en développant des innovations qui améliorent nos vies aujourd’hui et demain. En tant que membre de l’équipe Bayer, vous serez en mesure d’apporter des réponses aux plus grands défis de notre époque et d’amener des changements tangibles grâce à vos idées et solutions.

Rendre le monde un peu meilleur , telle est notre passion. Et cela se reflète non seulement dans notre d’amener mais également dans nos produits. Pour en savoir plus sur notre histoire et sur la façon dont notre contribution à la société est reconnue. Vous comprendrez pourquoi travailler chez Bayer constitue une expérience unique.

Une histoire de grandes idées

Depuis la création de Bayer il y a 150 ans, notre plus grand objectif a été d'améliorer la vie de nos clients. Nos produits pionniers et nos installations ultramodernes sont enracinés dans la petite entreprise avant-gardiste fondée par Friedrich Bayer et Johann Friedrich Westkott en 1863. Découvrez notre histoire et comment Bayer est devenue l’entreprise qu’elle est aujourd’hui.

L'histoire de Bayer

Notre contribution à la société

Afin de s'adapter à un monde en constante évolution, Bayer a toujours attaché une grande importance à la durabilité et à la responsabilité sociale. Nous investissons dans les sciences, l’éducation, la santé et dans les projets sociaux et sans but lucratif afin de contribuer à la viabilité de la société dans l’avenir. Cet engagement constitue un point essentiel de notre politique d’entreprise. Certains de nos projets en cours sont:

  • Le prix « Bayer Early Excellence in Science Award » que nous décernons chaque année à de jeunes scientifiques talentueux
  • Une collaboration avec le gouvernement chinois ayant pour objectif de former des médecins dans les zones rurales et médicalement mal desservies dans l'ouest de la Chine.
  • Un fonds pour la promotion des loisirs, des personnes handicapées et du sport professionnel en Allemagne

En outre, Bayer soutient ses collaborateurs dans le cadre de projets sociaux et de bénévolat. Citons en exemple l’initiative « Bayer People Care For Society » lancé par la fondation Bayer Cares en coopération avec le cabinet de conseil en gestion interne « Business Consulting ». Deux à trois consultants sont déployés une fois par an pendant trois mois au maximum dans le cadre d'un projet social de la fondation Bayer. L’initiative est un élément essentiel du développement du personnel stratégique de Business Consulting. En 2013, par exemple, la consultante Kathleen Opoku a apporté son aide pendant deux mois à Tacloban, une ville gravement touchée par le typhon Haiyan.

Les Fondations Bayer

Les jalons des fondations Bayer ont déjà été posés par Friedrich Bayer qui a créé dès 1897 les premières activités de fondation.

Actuellement, Bayer compte deux fondations :

La fondation Bayer Science & Education soutient des écoles, encourage les jeunes scientifiques et récompense les meilleurs travaux de recherche.

La fondation Bayer Cares, quant à elle, contribue au soutien de l’engagement bénévole pour l’amélioration des conditions de vie et apporte, entre autres, une aide humanitaire.

Nos fondations soutiennent la science, l’éducation et la santé et contribuent à améliorer la vie aujourd’hui et demain.