Working at Bayer

Basel

With a population of around 170,000, Basel is Switzerland’s third largest city. Located right at the triple border between Switzerland, Germany and France, Basel links the southern end of the Upper Rhine Plain with the start of the High Rhine. Thanks to its geographic position and diverse cultural offering, Basel, home to one our Life Science sites, is one of the cities, alongside Geneva and Zurich, offering the highest quality of life in the world.

 
     
 

Basel

Bayer Consumer Care AG

Peter Merian-Strasse 84

PO Box

CH-4002 Basel

 
     

The Basel site at a glance:

Employees Roughly 840
Divisions & service companies

International Headquarters of the Consumer Health Division

Pharmaceuticals site for oncology, ophthalmology and hematology

 

Address for visitors:

Bayer Consumer Care AG
Peter-Merian Str. 84
4002 Basel
Switzerland
Tel.: +41 58 272 72 72
Download: Directions & Map

http://www.basel.bayer.com

Frequently asked questions about the Basel site

In what areas do Bayer employees in Basel mainly work?

The Basel site, which employs some 840 people, is a large international Consumer Health and Pharma Hub. It is also the headquarters of the Consumer Health Division and some of our large Pharmaceuticals unit: Oncology, ophthalmology and hematology. The site also covers the following service areas:

  • Strategic Marketing & Communication
  • Product Supply, Procurement-Purchasing & Quality Assurance
  • Global Innovation
  • Regulatory Affairs
  • Medical affairs
  • Central Administration
  • Controlling & Accounting
  • IT
  • Human Resources

More information on Bayer’s Basel site can be found here.

What language is spoken in Basel?

Basel is located in the German-speaking part of Switzerland. Along with standard German, people here primarily speak Swiss German and Basel German (also known as Baseldytsch), the traditional dialect of the city of Basel and surrounding area, cultivation of which has drawn great interest from UNESCO.

What are Basel’s unmissable traditions?

As in the Rhineland, where Bayer’s headquarters are located (Leverkusen), the inhabitants of Basel also observe a fifth “season”: Basler Fastnacht, or Basel Carnival. The event has even been listed as part of UNESCO’s world cultural heritage due to its music and craftsmanship and the fact that this tradition is very much alive today. With around 200,000 visitors every year, Basel Carnival is the centerpiece of the city’s cultural creativity, showcasing the city’s wild side every year. The three-day event begins on the Monday after Ash Wednesday.


For more information on Basel Carnival, head to: https://www.basel.com/en/carnival-in-basel/unesco-world-cultural-heritage

Is it true that you can swim in the Rhine in Basel?

Absolutely! There is a long tradition of swimming in the Rhine in Basel and there are even a few river pools right in the Rhine itself. Good swimmers can while away the summer hours drifting on the current: the best entry point is at the Wettsteinbrücke bridge, from which you can float downstream to the Johanniterbrücke bridge.

Official information to be observed when swimming in the Rhine in Basel can be found on the website of the Swiss Lifeguard Association (SLRG): https://www.slrg.ch/de/nw/sektionen/basel/rheinschwimmen/basler-rheinschwimmen.html

Information on Basel’s various swimming pools can be found on the Swiss swimming pool portal: https://www.badi-info.ch/bs/basel.html

What are Basel’s main sights?

Basel’s most well-known sights are Basel Minster and the Middle Bridge. Basel’s old town is also one of Europe’s best preserved historic city centers, featuring more than 180 fountains in its narrow alleys and picturesque squares.

  • Basel Minster

    Basel Minster is a fixed feature of the city skyline with its red sandstone, colored roof tiles and twin slim towers. The former cathedral was built between 1019 and 1500 in Romanesque and Gothic styles but has been a protestant church since the reformation in 1529.

    Follow the link for more information on Basel Minster: https://www.baslermuenster.ch

  • Middle Bridge

    The Middle Bridge is the oldest Rhine crossing in Basel and forms the border between the High Rhine and the Upper Rhine. Constructed in the first half of the 13th century, it was for many centuries the only Rhine crossing in Basel. It wasn’t until 1879 that a second bridge was built, known as the Wettsteinbrücke. The historic Middle Bridge was replaced by the one you see today in the early 20th century.

What does Basel have to offer for people interested in art and culture?

Basel is Switzerland’s capital of culture, boasting a lively theatre and music scene and almost 40 museums offering art enthusiasts a wide variety to meet every expectation. The UK newspaper, The Times, lists the Kunstmuseum Basel as the fifth best art gallery in the world and includes the Fondation Beyeler among the world’s top 50.

  • Kunstmuseum Basel

    Pablo Picasso, Vincent Van Gogh, Paul Klee and Joseph Beuys are just some of the world-renowned artists whose works can be admired in the Kunstmuseum. Alongside its impressively extensive permanent collection, the gallery also hosts temporary exhibitions.

    Follow the link for more information on Kunstmuseum Basel: https://kunstmuseumbasel.ch/en/kunstmuseum-basel

  • Fondation Beyeler

    The Fondation Beyeler showcases classical modern masters and contemporary art collected over more than 50 years, boasting some 250 works.

    Follow the link for more information on Fondation Beyeler: https://www.fondationbeyeler.ch/en/

More on art and culture in Basel: https://www.basel.com/en/art

Are you looking for a job with Bayer in Basel?

Click here for an overview of all the vacancies at Bayer in Basel.

Think we could add some more information and links? We welcome your thoughts and suggestions!

Arbeiten bei Bayer

Basel

Basel ist mit rund 170.000 Einwohnern die drittgrößte Stadt der Schweiz. Direkt am Dreiländereck Schweiz-Deutschland-Frankreich gelegen, verbindet Basel das südliche Ende der oberrheinischen Tiefebene mit dem Anfang der Hochrheinebene. Wegen seiner geografischen Lage und dem vielfältigen kulturellen Angebot gehört unser Life Science Standort Basel neben Zürich und Genf zu den Städten mit der weltweit höchsten Lebensqualität.

 
     
 

Basel

Bayer Consumer Care AG

Peter Merian-Strasse 84

PO Box

CH-4002 Basel

 
     

Der Standort Basel auf einen Blick:

Mitarbeiter rund 840
Bereiche

Internationaler Hauptsitz der Division Consumer Health

Pharmaceuticals-Standort für Onkologie, Ophthalmologie und Hämatologie

 

 

Besucheranschrift:

Bayer Consumer Care AG
Peter-Merian Str. 84
4002 Basel
Schweiz
Tel.: +41 58 272 72 72
Download: Anfahrt & Lageplan

http://www.basel.bayer.com

Häufig gestellte Fragen zum Standort Basel

Woran arbeiten Bayer-Mitarbeiter in Basel?

Der Standort Basel ist mit seinen rund 840 Mitarbeitern ein wichtiger internationaler Consumer Health und Pharma Hub. Der internationale Hauptsitz der Division Consumer Health sowie einige wichtige Pharmaceuticals ­Bereiche sind in Basel angesiedelt: Onkologie, Ophthalmologie und Hämatologie. Außerdem werden am Standort Basel folgende Servicebereiche abgedeckt:

  • Strategisches Marketing & Kommunikation
  • Product Supply, Procurement-Einkauf & Qualitätssicherung
  • Globale Innovation
  • Regulatory Affairs
  • Medical Affairs
  • Zentrale Administration
  • Controlling & Buchhaltung
  • IT
  • Human Resources

Weiter Informationen rund um den Bayer-Standort Basel gibt es hier.

Welche Sprache wird in Basel gesprochen?

Basel liegt im deutschsprachigen Teil der Schweiz. Neben Hochdeutsch wird hier vor allem Schweizerdeutsch und Baseldeutsch, bzw. Baseldytsch gesprochen. So heißt der traditionelle Dialekt der Stadt Basel und ihrer Umgebung, dessen Pflege große Beachtung von der UNESCO findet.

Welche besondere Tradition sollte man in Basel nicht verpassen?

Ähnlich wie im Rheinland, rund um den Bayer-Hauptsitz Leverkusen, pflegen die Baseler ihre fünfte Jahreszeit: die Basler Fasnacht. Diese wird aufgrund der besonders lebendigen Tradition sowie ihrer Musik und Handwerkskunst von der UNESCO als Weltkulturerbe gelistet. Mit jährlich rund 200.000 Besuchern gilt die Basler Fastnacht als Herzstück der kulturellen Schaffenskraft in der Stadt, die sie jedes Jahr für drei Tage in den Ausnahmezustand versetzt. Sie dauert drei Tage und beginnt am Montag nach Aschermittwoch.


Mehr Informationen zur Basler Fastnacht gibt es hier: https://www.basel.com/de/basler-fasnacht/unesco-weltkulturerbe

Stimmt es, dass man in Basel im Rhein schwimmen kann?

Das Rheinschwimmen genießt in Basel ebenfalls lange Tradition. Direkt am Rhein sind einige Flussschwimmbäder zu finden. Wer gut schwimmen kann, lässt sich im Sommer außerdem gerne ein Stück mit der Strömung treiben: Den optimalen Einstieg finden Wasserfreunde an der Wettsteinbrücke von der sie sich bis zur rheinabwärts gelegenen Johanniterbrücke treiben lassen können.

Offizielle Informationen, was beim Rheinschwimmen in Basel zu beachten ist, gibt es u.a. auf der Seite der Schweizerischen Lebensrettungs-Gesellschaft SLRG: https://www.slrg.ch/de/nw/sektionen/basel/rheinschwimmen/basler-rheinschwimmen.html

Informationen zu den verschiedenen Schwimmbädern in Basel gibt es im Schweizer Schwimmbad-Portal: https://www.badi-info.ch/bs/basel.html

Welches sind die Wahrzeichen der Stadt Basel?

Als bekannteste Wahrzeichen Basels gelten das Basler Münster und die Mittlere Brücke. Die Basler Altstadt gehört außerdem zu den am besten erhaltenen historischen Stadtkernen Europas. Zwischen engen Gässchen und pittoresken Plätzen finden sich hier mehr als 180 Brunnen.

  • Basler Münster

    Das Basler Münster hat mit seinem roten Sandstein, bunten Ziegeln und zwei schlanken Türmen seinen festen Platz in der Skyline der Stadt. Die ehemalige Bischofskirche wurde zwischen den Jahren 1019 und 1500 im romanischen und gotischen Stil erbaut. Seit der Reformation 1529 wird das Münster bis heute als evangelische Kirche geführt.

    Zum Basler Münster: https://www.baslermuenster.ch

  • Mittlere Brücke

    Die Mittlere Brücke ist der älteste Rheinübergang in Basel und gilt als Grenze zwischen Hochrhein und Oberrhein. Seit ihrer Erbauung in der ersten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts war sie mehrere Jahrhunderte lang der einzige Basler Rheinübergang. Erst 1879 kam mit der Wettsteinbrücke ein zweiter Übergang hinzu. Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts wurde die historische Brücke durch die heutige ersetzt.

Was hat Basel für Kunst- und Kulturinteressierte zu bieten?

Basel gilt als Kulturhauptstadt der Schweiz. Eine lebendige Theater- und Musikszene und die fast 40 Museen bieten Kunstinteressierten eine thematische Vielfalt, die keine Wünsche offenlässt. Die Londoner Zeitung TIMES listet das Basler Kunstmuseum als fünftbestes Kunstmuseum der Welt und auch die Fondation Beyeler hat es unter die Top 50 geschafft.

  • Kunstmuseum Basel

    Pablo Picasso, Vincent Van Gogh, Paul Klee oder Joseph Beuys sind nur wenige der weltberühmten Künstler, deren Werke im Kunstmuseum zu bewundern sind. Neben der beeindruckend umfangreichen Sammlung bietet das Haus auch aktuelle Ausstellungen.

    Zum Kunstmuseum Basel: https://kunstmuseumbasel.ch

  • Fondation Beyeler

    Die Fondation Beyeler präsentiert eine im Laufe von über 50 Jahren zusammengetragene Kunstsammlung der klassischen Moderne und Gegenwartskunst. Die Sammlung umfasst rund 250 Werke.

    Zur Fondation Beyeler: https://www.fondationbeyeler.ch

 Mehr über Kunst und Kultur in Basel: https://www.basel.com/de/Kunst-Kultur

Job bei Bayer in Basel gesucht?

Hier geht’s zur Übersicht mit allen freien Stellenangeboten bei Bayer in Basel.

Sie meinen, wir könnten weitere Informationen und Links ergänzen? Schreiben Sie uns gerne!